The Hymn of the Pearl, a Gnostic text.

http://www.soul-guidance.com/houseofthesun/hymnpearl.htm

From: Hymn of the Pearl.

When I was a little child, and dwelling in my kingdom, in my father’s house, and was content with the wealth and the luxuries of my nourishers, from the East, our home, my parents equipped me (and) sent me forth. And they took off from me the glittering robe, which in their affection they made for me, and the purple toga, which was measured (and) woven to my stature. And they made a compact with me, and wrote it in my heart, that it might not be forgotten:

“If you go down into Egypt, and bring the one pearl, which is in the midst of the sea around the loud-breathing serpent, you shall put on your glittering robe and your toga, with which (your art) contented.

I went down into Egypt, and my companions parted from me. I went straight to the serpent, I dwelt in his abode, (waiting) till he should lumber and sleep, and I could take my pearl from him.

But I forget that I was a son of kings, and I served their king; and I forgot the pearl, for which my parents had sent me, and because of the burden of their oppressions I lay in a deep sleep.

But all this things that befell me my parents perceived, and were grieved for me; and they wrote to me a letter, and every noble signed his name to it: “From your father, the king of kings, and your mother, the mistress of the East, and from your brother, our second (in authority), to our son, who are in Egypt, greeting! Call to mind that you are a son of kings! See the slavery,–whom you serve! Remember the pearl, for which you were sent to Egypt! Think of your robe, and remember your splendid toga, which you shall wear when your name has been read out in the list of the valiant.

My letter the king sealed with his own right hand, It flew in the likeness of an eagle, the king of all birds and alight beside me, and became all speech. At its voice and the sound of its rustling, I started and arose from my sleep. I remembered that I was a son of royal parents, and my noble birth asserted itself. I remembered the pearl, for which I had been sent to Egypt, and I began to charm him, the terrible loud breathing serpent. I snatched away the pearl, and turned to go back to my father’s house. filthy and unclean dress I stripped off, and left it in that country; and I took my way straight to come to the light of our home in the East.

And my bright robe, which I had stripped off, and the toga that was wrapped with it, on a sudden, when I received it, the garment seemed to me to become like a mirror of myself. My decorated robe, was adorned with glorious colors, with gold and beryls and rubies and agates and sardonyxes, varied in color. And in its kingly movements it poured itself entirely over me. I bowed my head and worshipped the majesty of my father, who sent me; for I had done his commandments, and he too had done what he promised, for he rejoiced in me and received me, and I was with him in his kingdom, And he promised that to the gate too of the king of kings with him I should go, and with my offering and my pearl with him should present myself to our king.

About Beema Noel

One navigates life's journey with the compass given. With blessings our instrument is true. Never Forget Remember the One The Way of Love Our Life, Our All This I believe is the journey we share so let us gladly walk together. As a child guided by my heart~ calling to mountains & sky, As a teen my heart called for freedom, As a young man; Blessed by the mystic yogi, One who may lead those seeking to make their way, by the rainbow light of the ever new Aeon.
This entry was posted in Ageless Wisdom, Esoterica, Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

