Eight Verses for Mind Transformation

avalokiteshvara

 

Eight Verses for Mind Transformation

In my own words ~ Adapted from www.lamrim.org.uk

Interpreting an important text on thought transformation, Lojong Tsigyema (Eight Verses on Thought Transformation). Originally composed by Geshé Langri Tangba, who was a very unusual bodhisattva.

 

(1)
Accomplishing awareness of the highest welfare for all sentient beings;
precious beyond measure, sacred as a temple
I hold them truly dear

 (2)
Whenever I associate with others,
I will know myself blessed by divine presence,
from the depth of my heart holding all as vessels of  the supreme.

 (3)
If obscuring emotions arise, clouding our wellbeing,
I will always look into mind, to sooth the afflicted

(4)
I care for all delusional beings,
oppressed by any negativity and suffering
like precious finds of raw gems

 (5)
If others seem to treat me badly
mistaking wrong for right,
It’ll flow down the clear & rapid stream of time

 (6)
When those I respect or adore shock me in any way,
I will still view them as excellent spiritual guides

 (7)
 I will offer everyone help in all the way I can
And not fear the suffering of mothers.

(8)
I honor all these ways of seeing
Unstained by delusion
Seeing clearly free of bondage.

These lines speak about the practice of ultimate bodhicitta. When we talk of the antidotes to the eight worldly attitudes, there are many levels. The actual antidote for overcoming the influence of such worldly attitudes is to understand the non-inherent nature of phenomena. All phenomena are not inherently existent – they are like illusions. Although they appear as truly existent they have no reality. “Having understood their relative nature, may I be freed from the binding knot of the self-grasping attitude.”

You can read Lojong Tsigyema every day to enhance your practice of the bodhisattva ideal.

Adapted from THE UNION OF BLISS AND EMPTINESS
His Holiness the XIV Dalai Lama

About Beema Noel

One navigates life's journey with the compass given. With blessings our instrument is true. Never Forget Remember the One The Way of Love Our Life, Our All This I believe is the journey we share so let us gladly walk together. As a child guided by my heart~ calling to mountains & sky, As a teen my heart called for freedom, As a young man; Blessed by the mystic yogi, One who may lead those seeking to make their way, by the rainbow light of the ever new Aeon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

